Blogging, Leanne D. Baldwin News, Networking

Platform-building campaign: like a barn-raising, but with more words!

Today marked the opening of registration for Rachael Harrie’s Third Writers’ Platform-Building Campaign, an event I’ve been looking forward to for a few months. I first ran across a description of the previous Campaigns (which were then called “Crusades”) when I was Googling for info about techniques for building a platform as a writer.

Rachael is an Australian writer and blogger who has taken paying it forward to a mind-boggling level with this recurring project. The gist of it is that she opens registration for the Campaign on her own blog for a week, during which hordes of writers (like myself) pour in and are grouped according to various criteria – genre, age group of audience, location.

We then begin getting acquainted with our fellow campaigners by following and commenting on each other’s blogs and following each other on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, and so forth. There will also be challenges (which involve everyone posting to their blogs and reading what others have posted) which will be judged and for which actual prizes will be awarded.

Sound like a lot of work? It is! I’ve already spent several hours today just trying to read a few people’s blogs and respond to comments on my own, tracking some of them on Facebook, and so forth. But I think the experience will yield rich rewards. I strongly suspect that lasting relationships can be forged through this process, and it’s always interesting to get to know other writers, who are invariably quirky and often charming and engaging.

What about you? Couldn’t you use a few more networking pals for your platform? Do you have another method of garnering followers and friends? What’s your favorite way to network?

Discussion

26 thoughts on “Platform-building campaign: like a barn-raising, but with more words!

  1. Hi Leanne, I’m in the group of adult fiction as well. This is my first time as a campaigner and really looking forward to it!
    – andrea

    Posted by Andrea S. Michaels | August 23, 2011, 3:16 pm
  2. Hello there, I’m in your group and I came to introduce myself and say hi 🙂

    Posted by Sarah Pearson | August 23, 2011, 7:14 pm
  3. So nice to meet you and I’m excited about the challenges. It is my first time doing this, and can’t wait to discover new writers and friends:)

    Posted by T.F.Walsh | August 24, 2011, 1:08 am
  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog! It’s good to see another WordPress blogger — we seem to be in the minority!

    Looking forward to chatting!

    Posted by jamilajamison | August 24, 2011, 6:02 am
  5. I’m also excited for this campaign! It will be my first time out. Lol, right now we are a lone couple in the 2nd dystopian/post-apocalyptic group. Howdy neighbor!

    Posted by Annalise Green | August 25, 2011, 1:14 am
  6. You wanna know a secret? I signed up for dystopian/post-apocalyptic accidentally! I thought the link I was clicking was Fantasy, LOL. However, I’m perfectly happy to rub elbows with you and look forward to campaigning together.

    Posted by Leanne D Baldwin | August 25, 2011, 4:29 am
  7. Hi – just visiting to meet another campaigner – willl get to know you better later – a lot of footwork still to do!!joined toooo many groups – doh!

    Posted by alberta ross | August 25, 2011, 4:33 pm
  8. I am just beginning to make my round, but I agree, this will be worth it. Nice to meet you fellow Campaigner.

    Posted by Holly Vance | August 27, 2011, 7:25 pm
  9. I am also making the rounds. Nice to meet you fellow Campaigner.

    Posted by Holly Vance | August 27, 2011, 7:27 pm
  10. Considering the trend, do I even need to say that I’m in your group? But I’m in your group, and it’s nice to meet you, and, by the way, I love the “Writing While Insane” caption.

    Posted by Aaron | August 31, 2011, 10:06 am
    • Hi, Aaron, and welcome to my blog and to the campaign! Do I correctly gather that you’re in Alaska? Always good to meet a fellow Northwestern blogger/writer.

      Glad you like my caption! It seemed appropriate – I feel at least 30% more insane than those around me at any given moment.

      Posted by Leanne D Baldwin | August 31, 2011, 1:06 pm
  11. Popping in to say Hello to a fellow campaigner! Already enjoying your blog, too!

    Posted by F.E. Sewell (@FESewell) | September 1, 2011, 7:08 pm
  12. Just dropping by to say hi, looking forward to this whole campaign experience!

    Posted by Gretchen | September 2, 2011, 2:19 am
  13. ‘Sup fellow Dystopian/Post-Apoc campaigner! I already enjoyed your zombie post, except to be honest, I gotta disagree with everything you said over there. 😛 World War z will never be boring.

    Hope to see you around!

    Posted by samdelapena | September 3, 2011, 11:00 pm
  14. Hi! Nice to meet you. I’m in your Dystopian group. (I’m a little late getting around and introducing myself, though.) This Campaign will be a ton of fun. 🙂

    Posted by Madeline Bartos | September 6, 2011, 6:09 pm
  15. It is a lot of work, but it’s something I like doing. I’m in your group! *waves*

    Posted by Elana Johnson | September 8, 2011, 5:53 pm
  16. Hi, I’m in your group and just wanted to stop by and introduce myself! I’m excited to get to know you better! 🙂

    Posted by Julie Coulter Bellon | September 8, 2011, 10:16 pm
  17. Welcome to the campaign, Leanne! I’m in your fantasy group, so I’m sure that we’ll run into each other again soon down the campaign trail.

    Posted by kelworthfiles | September 12, 2011, 6:25 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: When the platform must take a backseat « Leanne D. Baldwin's Blog - September 22, 2011

  2. Pingback: When the platform must take a backseat | Leanne D. Baldwin - January 18, 2014

Don't be shy. C'mon, speak!

wordpress com stats plugin
